Chrismas Bread

In the last few years, bread has come to symbolize holiday eating.  We just returned from a three year stint living in Germany, where bread was just a way of life.  Each holiday brought with it a new type of bread.  Stollen, or Weinachtsstollen (Christmas version of this bread), was the type to eat during the holidays.

Admittedly, I am trying to recreate just about every bread I had in Europe, whether I liked it or not.  I was not in love with stollen (maybe it was the plethora of alcohol-soaked dried fruits?) but it did remind me of a bread I’d had some twenty years ago probably.

I remember my mom making several loaves of a yeast bread with just a hint of sweetness, but a lot of buttery taste.  So I did a bit of research, trying to find a recipe to give me that the buttery soft taste, with just a hint of sweetness, and a bit of almond taste that is so prevalent in German bakery dishes.  Plus I wanted it to be a fun shape.

That led me to the holiday wreath bread:

There you go!  Okay, there is more to it, but it really is easy.  I made it one night while my children roamed around my house/ climbed on me.

The recipe is based mostly on this one:  http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/christmas-wreath-bread

I left out dry milk powder (I never have this and I’m averse to milk in powdered form), reduced the glaze by a half, used vanilla instead of almond extract (because I have a several ounces of vodka with vanilla bean soaking, another post another day, I promise), and used a cup less flour.

I will be back with a step by step tutorial on how to make this!

Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

